Deputy Lieutenants

Deputy Lieutenant Badge
There are currently 36 Deputy Lieutenants on the active list who support and promote the Lieutenancy in Surrey.

Deputy Lieutenants (DLs) are commissioned by the Lord-Lieutenant, with candidates ‘not disapproved’ by HM The Queen. Their role is to support and promote the Lieutenancy in Surrey and to represent the Lord-Lieutenant, performing a range of public duties when required.

The maximum establishment of DLs in Surrey is 57. That number is based on the county’s population of around 1.2 million people. There are 46 DLs currently on the active list. Deputy Lieutenants retire at the age of 75 and then join a supplementary list, but carry out fewer duties as a DL.

The DLs in Surrey reflect a broad range of services to the community, cultural and social background, ethnic mix and gender. They are often well known in the locality for their work in the local community or nationally, or for their distinguished service in other fields. This could be through public life, the uniformed services, charitable or volunteering activities.

It goes without saying that, having been chosen on the basis of service already given, a DL is expected to continue to serve the community both within and outside the framework of the Lieutenancy. To underline their willingness to serve, DLs must – before their commissions are signed – give the Lord-Lieutenant a written assurance that each will “to the best of my ability, assist in the performance of any public duty which may be laid upon the Lord-Lieutenant”.

  • Shahid Azeem DL
  • Mrs Bridget Biddell DL  
  • CW (Bill) Biddell DL  
  • Baroness Bottomley of Nettlestone (Virginia) PC JP DL
  • Dr Helen Bowcock OBE DL
  • Mrs Caroline Breckell MVO DL
  • Mrs Mary Creswell DL
  • HH Christopher Critchlow DL 
  • Colonel (Retired) Patrick Crowley DL
  • Mrs Nicola Dawes DL
  • Mrs Neelam Devesher DL
  • Robert Douglas CBE DL
  • Dr Karin Englehart MRCP FFFLM DL (Mrs Karin Sehmer)
  • Brigadier Paul Evans OBE DL 
  • HH Judge Robert Fraser MVO DL 
  • Martin John Gerrard QPM DL
  • Mr Jim Glover OBE DL
  • Colonel AP Guthrie TD DL
  • The Very Rev’d Dianna Gwilliams DL
  • Mrs Johanna (Joosje)Hamilton DL
  • Michael Hayman MBE DL
  • Brigadier Roger Hood QVRM TD DL 
  • Ms Perdita Hunt OBE DL
  • Ms Charlotte Kneer DL
  • Sir Stephen Lamport GCVO DL
  • Professor Paul Layzell BA (Econ) MSc PhD FBCS EEng DL
  • Peter Lee DL
  • Commander Susan Lochner JP DL RN
  • Miss Jane Macaulay JP DL
  • Professor Max Lu AO FAA FTSE FLchemE FRSC DL
  • Robert Napier CBE DL
  • The Revd Canon Nigel Nicholson DL
  • Lady O’Connor (Louise) DL
  • Mr Steve Owen-Hughes MBE DL
  • Mrs Frances Rutter DL
  • Paul Ryder JP DL
  • The Hon Mrs Lavinia Sealy DL
  • Dr Vir Seth MB FRCP DL 
  • Lady Toulson (Elizabeth) CBE DL
  • Anthony Townsend DL
  • Mrs Sally Varah MBE DL
  • Mr Giles Verity DL
  • Timothy Wates DL 
  • Richard Whittington DL
  • Nicholas Wood-Dow DL
  • Sir Graham Wrigley KCMG DL