Some information on this website may be out of date following the recent announcement of the death of The Queen

The Honours System

Honours System

The Honours System offers public recognition to people in all walks of life and all sections of society who have given quite exceptional service and made a difference in their community or in the country. There are several different types of award, each one recognising a different type of contribution (click here).

The British Honours System is one of the oldest in the world. It has evolved over 650 years and today recognises merit, gallantry and service. Honours lists are published twice a year at New Year and in mid-June on the date of The Queen’s official birthday. (Please scroll down to see the names of the Surrey residents recognised in the latest Honours list.)

Anyone can receive an award if they reach the required standard of merit or service, and honours lists contain a wide variety of people from different backgrounds. Anyone can nominate someone for an award but it is important to note that longevity in a position is not sufficient in itself and that honours are not usually awarded after someone has retired.

Access to the required form and further information can be obtained by clicking here. 

To support a nomination, it is essential to source and submit several strong letters of recommendation, from people who know at first hand about the work that has been done by the individual being nominated.

It is important to recognise that a nomination can take around 18 months to go through the vetting process, from the point it is submitted to the Cabinet Office. The fact of nomination should be kept strictly confidential as sadly a relatively few people can be honoured and it is best to avoid disappointment. If a nomination proves unsuccessful. it is sometimes possible for the Lord-Lieutenant to arrange some other form of recognition, as a ‘thank you’ for exceptional service.

Please download a copy of the exclusive Surrey Lieutenancy Honours Leaflet here:

Awards for Surrey residents

Birthday Honours 2022

Companion of the Order of the Bath (CB)

Mr Jonathan Mills of Guilford

Commanders of the 0rder of the British Empire (CBE)

Professor Paul John Layzell DL of Egham

Mr Nicholas Francis Markham of East Horsley

Officers of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)

Mrs Claire Ball of Redhill

Ms Antonia Denise Belcher of Puttenham

Mrs Sandra Carmen Stella Martin of Horley

Members of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)

Mr Andrew Robert Baird of Horley

Mr Stephen Lawrence Blunden of Oxted

Mr Robert Christopher Brewer DL of Limpsfield

Mr Darren Lee Hart of Staines

Mr Kevin Hunt of Ashtead

Miss Lissa Kate Matthews of Ashtead

Mr Robert Crispen George Quest of Chertsey

Mrs Valerie Marie Watson of Normandy

Medallists of the Order of the British Empire (BEM)

Mrs Sally Sarah Jane Erhardt of Ripley

Mr William Geldard of Thames Ditton

Mr Benjamin John Green of Puttenham

Mr Brian Lee of Camberley

Mrs Barbara Joanne McColl Stopford of Tadworth

Mr William Thain Ewen Thompson of Farnham

Ms Elizabeth Ann Townsend of Cranleigh

New Year Honours 2022

Dames Commander of the Order of the British Empire (DBE)

Ms Sylvia Lloyd Heal, of Egham                                                                                                                                  

Professor Sarah Marcella Springman  CBE of Englefield Green                       

Commanders of the Order of the British Empire (CBE)

Mr. John Andrew Dawson of Leatherhead                                                                                                              

Mr Nicholas Robson Owen of Haslemere                                                             

Ms Philippa Claire Rouse of Oxted                                                                             

Mrs Rachel Susan Skinner of West Molesey                                                           

Officers of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)

Miss June Muriel Brown MBE of Chipstead                                                           

Miss Philippa Minshall Charles of Reigate                                                               

Miss Emma Carol Hayes MBE of Cobham                                                              

Mr Neil Leitch of Tadworth                                                                                           

Ms Vivienne Porritt of Claygate                                                                                   

Miss Hannah Russell MBE of Chertsey                                                    

Mr Thomas James Rutherford of Farnham                                              

Mr Christopher Ryan of Weybridge                                                         

Ms Fay Angela Sharpe of Loxhill                                                                

Dr Stuart Wainwright of Dorking                                                               

Members of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)

Mrs Philippa Mary Cramer of Claygate                                                     

Mr William Delwyn Evans of Woking                                                       

Ms Kylie Grimes of Farnham                                                                       

Mr Christopher David Hickford of Addlestone                                    

Mr Stephen Anthony Holland of Oxshott                                                 

Mr Timothy John Lawlor of Tadworth                                                     

Mr Nicholas Peter Marsh of Farnham                                                       

Mrs Berendina Jill Norton of West Byfleet                                              

Dr Adele Parks of Guilford                                                                             

Ms Emma Louise Simpson of Farnham                                                     

Ms Jennifer Taylor of Virginia water                                                          

Medallists of the Order of the British Empire (BEM)

Miss Sarah Karis Clay of West Molesey                                                  

Mrs Elaine Forsyth of Betchworth                                                              

Mrs Charlotte Elizabeth Adair Hellyer of Redhill                                 

Mrs Var Ashe Houston of Guildford                                                         

Mrs Madeline Menezes of Walton on Thames                                      

Mr Adam Guy Philip Parsons of Chobham                                               

Ms Lisa Jane Teresa Powis of Weybridge                                               

Mrs Alexandra Mary Sanderson of Ash Vale                                        

Mrs Bronia Snow of Esher