26th February 2020

The five Surrey residents awarded British Empire Medals in the New Year Honours List 2020 attended an Investiture at Loseley House on 26th February 2020. Mr Kanubhai Patel and Mrs Bridget Hancock (seated) and Mr Malcolm Loveday, Mr Owen O’Toole and Dr Jocelyn Johnston (standing, left to right) are seen in this photograph (left) with HM Lord-Lieutenant of Surrey, Mr Michael More-Molyneux who presented the medals in the historic Great Hall.

Also photographed with the medallists at the Investiture were (standing, left to right): Mr Gavin Stephens, Chief Constable of Surrey; Mr David Munro, Surrey Police and Crime Commissioner; Mr Bill Biddell, former Vice Lord-Lieutenant of Surrey; The High Sheriff of Surrey 2019-20, Mrs Bridget Biddell; and Councillor Tony Samuels, Chairman of Surrey County Council. The British Empire Medal rewards a sustained, local contribution by a citizen, or innovative, high-impact work of a relatively short duration.

4 February 2020

Six organisations in Surrey have been nominated for the prestigious Queen’s Award for Voluntary Service 2020. Their volunteers dedicate valuable time and experience to help individuals and communities across the county and representatives from each group received an official thank you from HM Lord-Lieutenant of Surrey, Michael More-Molyneux, at a Reception at Loseley Park, sponsored by Surrey County Council. “Without the work of charities and voluntary groups like yours, many communities in Surrey would be so much poorer and our ability to meet local need with care and compassion would be so much less,” he told them.

The nominated groups were: Riverside Arts Centre, Sunbury (top left); Tice’s Meadow Bird Group (top centre); Walton Firs Foundation (top right); Chiddingfold Bonfire (Charities) Association (lower left); Claygate Recreation Ground Trust (lower centre); and Sport Godalming (lower right).

The names of the winning groups will be announced publicly on 2nd June 2020. To nominate groups of deserving volunteers for the Queen’s Awards for Voluntary Service 2021, please click here

Photographs: Andy Newbold